

The 29th Annual

# CONNECTICUT ASBDA

High School Honor Band Festival 2024

Francis T. Maloney High School

Connecticut Chapter of the American School Band Directors' Association

## PARTICIPATING SCHOOLS

**BACON ACADEMY** BERLIN HIGH SCHOOL **BRISTOL CENTRAL HIGH SCHOOL CANTON HIGH SCHOOL** COGINCHAUG REGIONAL HIGH SCHOOL **COVENTRY HIGH SCHOOL FARMINGTON HIGH SCHOOL** FORAN HIGH SCHOOL **GLASTONBURY HIGH SCHOOL GUILFORD HIGH SCHOOL** HALL HIGH SCHOOL LYME/OLD LYM HIGH SCHOOL MALONEY HIGH SCHOOL NORTH HAVEN HIGH SCHOOL NORTHWESTERN REGION 7 HIGH SCHOOL **NORWICH FREE ACADEMY** RHAM HIGH SCHOOL STAPLES HIGH SCHOOL TORRINGTON HIGH SCHOOL

## 2024 CONNECTICUT ASBDA OFFICERS

## FESTIVAL PERSONNEL

CT ASBDA OFFICER
Wayne Splettstoeszer State Chair

Jeffrey Ventres- Symphonic Band Chair Philip Giampietro - Wind Ensemble Chair Brian Cyr - Site Chair

## DR. JUSTIN MCMANUS - SYMPHONIC BAND

Dr. Justin McManus (he/him) is director of athletic bands, assistant director of wind bands, and assistant professor of music at the University of Connecticut. Dr. McManus directs and oversees the 300+ member "Pride of Connecticut" Marching Band, basketball and hockey pep bands, conducts the university Concert Band, and teaches a course in leadership development. Originally from Torrington, CT, Dr. McManus holds undergraduate and master's degrees in music performance and music education from the University of Connecticut, and a doctorate in music education from the Boston University School of Music.

Prior to assuming his role at UConn, Dr. McManus served as assistant director of university bands at the University of Notre Dame where he assisted with the "Band of the Fighting Irish" Marching Band, directed the basketball band, conducted three wind bands, and taught a course in instrumental methods. During his time at ND, Dr. McManus frequently served as a clinician and adjudicator, serving as one of two panelists for the New Zealand National Concert Band Association Festival and directing wind bands in nine countries. In Connecticut, Dr. McManus has conducted the Laurel Music Camp Symphonic Band, Quinebaug Valley Music Festival Honor Band, and has had the pleasure of working with several band programs across the state.

Dr. McManus is a member of the College Band Directors National Association, National Association for Music Education, and Connecticut Music Educators Association.

# THE 2024 SYMPHONIC BAND

## **PROGRAM**

**CONDUCTED BY: DR. JUSTIN MCMANUS** 

## AARON S. BURGESS - WIND ENSEMBLE

Aaron S. Burgess is a dynamic conductor and music educator with close ties to the public school, collegiate and community music arenas. He is director of bands at Southern Cayuga Central School District in Aurora, NY, artistic director of the acclaimed Ithaca College Trombone Troupe, assistant conductor of the Ithaca Community Orchestra, and conductor of the Ithaca New Music Collective. His work in recent years also includes an appointment in the Trumansburg (NY) Central School District, conductor of the Ithaca College Symphonic Band, Director of Bands at Edwin O. Smith High School (Storrs, CT), adjunct faculty (music) at the University of

Connecticut, Director of Bands at Rocky Hill High School (CT), and conductor of the Connecticut Wind Ensemble. Burgess has collaborated from the podium with many artists and composers including Peter Steiner (touring trombonist), Timothy Smith (Buffalo Philharmonic), Greg Case (USCG Band), Louis Hanzlik (American Brass Quintet), and Barbara Hopkins (Hartford Symphony), and composers Dana Wilson, Kenneth Fuchs, Jess Langston Turner, Eric Ewazen, and Lewis J. Buckley. He has commissioned and premiered new works for winds and percussion and guest conducted numerous ensembles and honor bands. He holds a Master of Music in wind conducting from Ithaca college and a Bachelor of Arts in Music and a Bachelor of Science in Education from the University of Connecticut.

# THE 2024 ASBDA WIND ENSEMBLE

## **PROGRAM**

REMINISCENCE	KATHRYN SALFELDER
ORIGIN	CAIT NISHIMURA
CHORALE AND SHAKER DANCE	JOHN P. ZDECHLIK
MARCH TUMBAO	JAMES M. DAVID

**CONDUCTED BY: AARON S. BURGESS** 

## THE 2024 ASBDA YOUNG COMPOSTERS COMPETITION



# HIGH SCHOOL DIVISION WINNER "BEYOND" FOR SYMPHONIC BAND BY QUINN MCLENNAN BROOKFIELD HIGH SCHOOL

"DROWNING IN MUSIC" FOR FLUTE QUARTET BY FINNEGAN CARLEY CANTON INTERMEDIATE SCHOOL

## THE 2024 ASBDA WIND ENSEMBLE

### 2024 Connecticut American School Band Directors Association Wind Ensemble

Aaron Burgess - Director



#### Flute

Sarah Kim Vaishnavi Chinta Ayoni Chakraborty

#### Oboe

Ludovit Pauliny Natalie Groves

#### Bassoon

Liviana Knudsen Kevin Reas

#### Clarinet

Giovanni Assunto Jean Lee Rae Coombs Dahlia Alexander Madeleine Enos Madeline Leventhal Natalie Obuchowski Anna Hansard

#### Bass Clarinet

Leah Jackson

#### Alto Saxophone

Edward Shoneck Cole Webster

#### **Tenor Saxophone**

Jake Sauer Samuel Rondon

#### **Baritone Saxophone**

Quinn Knox

#### Trumpet

Joseph Coombs Benjamin Johnson Max Vickerelli Amber Van Alstyne Adam Kozlowski Zachary Grodzicki

#### French Horn

Evan Lionberger Isabella Minja Evan Cardona-Ramos Mace Beckius

#### **Trombone**

Parker Hodgman Bradley Crocker Carl Zapatka Caeden Fabas

#### Euphonium

Matthew Jake Mandac Audrena Downing

#### Tuba

Matthew Rozzi Harsh Bhagat

#### Percussion

Nathan Ben Ari Aidan Colaianni Justin Hoang Jake LaChance Zachary Newshel Gretchen Perreault Jason Robinson

#### String Bass

Mason Backus

## THE 2024 ASBDA SYMPHONIC BAND



#### 2024 Connecticut American School Band Directors Association Symphonic Band

#### Dr. Justin McManus - Director

#### Flute/Piccolo

Paolo Abrantes Ruth Smith

#### Flute

Charlie Dunlap Sarai Jones Yu Qian Lin Charlie Lisac Summer Mangan Jill Quinto Gabriella Rosado Ye Ahn Sohn Grace Velardi

#### Oboe

Rowyn Ferriera Marya Lane

#### Bassoon

Evo Espiritusanto Isabella Oakley

#### Clarinet

Robert Allison Lily Artruc Katherine Belding Ceciley Buckley Grayson Collins Mabel Cook Aurora Correll David Cottle Meghan Horan Alicia Huang Aarav Nadgouda Jackson Storey Rashmi Vobbilisetty Olivia Webster Caterina Wilson Carolina Yoo

#### Bass Clarinet

Dominic Clark June Darcey

#### Alto Saxophone

Celia Izzo
Lilian O'Neil
Chloe Shearer
Drea Simler
Scott Spooner
Kylie Stapleton

#### Tenor Saxophone

Maggie Coffey Logan Dambach Luke Wikstrom Ty Zemba

#### Baritone Saxophone

Nathan Dos Santos Andrew Liu

#### Trumpet

Brenden Bush Benjamin Buyniski Casey Doyle Ionah Erazo Nicholas Fabrizio Kendall Guest Olivia Jackson Gargi Karve Amanda Loscialpo Luke Morrissette Julian Randall Aiden Ricci Thomas Riley George Stula Andrew Tabol Conner Walker

#### French Horn

Sydney Churchill Nathan DeJackome Malena Downing Mary Gahm Charlotte Galarneau Katherine Greden Lucas Mainville Zayna Saidi

#### Trombone

Jasmine Allen-Sengupta Reese Coffey John Fink Samuel Le Oliver Melmed Jillian Meurs Christopher Miller Carter Shearer Eva Tartamella

#### Euphonium

Sophia Lee Domonic Salz Gabriel Tuninsky Brendan Keskula

#### Tuba

Gavin Farnsworth James Midgley Leland Oxendine Fletcher Steimer Azita Vazhayil Justin Verrastro

#### String Bass

Damian Brown

#### Percussion

Jack Erickson Tristan Fiertek Rowan Fisher Parker Kristhoffer Joseph Lahav Daphne Liss Jillian Roderick Elijah Spikes Levi Swanson